The Spring Revel


Photographs from Revel 2019 by Clint Spaulding

Revel 2020

 Honoring Richard Ford

 Benefit Chairs

Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach

Hadada Award Presented by Bruce Springsteen

Alice McDermott Presenting the Plimpton Prize for Fiction to Jonathan Escoffery

Roz Chast Presenting the Terry Southern Prize for Humor to Leigh Newman

Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Cipriani 25 Broadway
Drinks at 7pm
Dinner & Program at 8pm

 Nightcap at 10pm

Purchase Tickets 

The Revel is one of The Paris Review’s oldest traditions—and its most anticipated. The event celebrates writers and writing and provides the core support necessary to carry on the vital work of the magazine. The Paris Review has become a beloved literary institution after sixty-seven years in publication, and the Revel brings together cultural leaders, friends and readers of the magazine, emerging and established writers, and devoted patrons of the arts for a legendary party.

All proceeds from the Revel support the efforts of The Paris Review Foundation, helping make possible the quarterly publication of The Paris Review, and many other vital programs that promote the literary arts. 


The Hadada Award

In 2003, to mark the magazine’s fiftieth anniversary, George Plimpton inaugurated a lifetime-achievement prize honoring a “strong and unique contribution to literature.” The statuette—nicknamed the Hadada, after Plimpton’s favorite waterfowl—is based on the magazine’s insignia: a bald eagle perched atop a pen, sporting the French bonnet rouge. The first recipient of the award, in 2003, was Barney Rosset, founder and editor in chief of Grove Press and a champion of free speech in the arts for more than a half century.

Past recipients of the Hadada Award are:

2003; Barney Rosset
2004: William Styron
2005: George Plimpton (posthumously)
2006: Joan Didion
2007: Norman Mailer
2008: Peter Matthiessen
2009: John Ashbery
2010: Philip Roth
2011: James Salter
2012: Robert Silvers
2013: Paula Fox
2014: Frederick Seidel
2015: Norman Rush
2016: Lydia Davis
2017: Richard Howard
2018: Joy Williams
2019: Deborah Eisenberg